jump to navigation

Invitation October 8, 2008

Posted by caseyww in Faith.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Welcome to Valence!

-What?!? Casey is blogging? The end must really be nigh now.

I know, it’s kind of a cliché thing to do these days isn’t it? I’m certainly not the first person to decide that my thoughts need broadcasting across this expanse of the internet. In fact, I’m a bit intimidated to add my meager voice to the mass. But alas, into the din we go dear friends.

-Where am I coming from?

A short explanation is probably in order.  A couple of years ago, for reasons I couldn’t pinpoint at the time, my faith seemed to be grinding to a slow and painful stop.  I felt dishonest.  Experiences I would have called divine were authentic but far from overwhelming.  Not for a lack of investment, my relationship with God seemed to constantly fall short of friends’ testimonies and the reality painted by the Bible.  Drip dry.  Instead of confronting this quiet dissatisfaction I spent most of my inner spiritual dialogue making excuses for God, trying to justify his inaction.

Additionally, the ineptness of my traditional Christian worldview to mesh with the scientific discoveries of our age compounded the issue.  I felt like faith required me to ignore or write off so many critical questions about the validity of things like evolution or the historic accuracy/infallibility of the bible.  Faith, by definition, taught me to trust that God had all these things under control. Flirting with willful ignorance I submitted. But the more I ignored questions the more their persistence made me feel as if I was inauthentic.  My walk with God dwindled to little more than a façade maintained in order to keep from alienating my wife and Christian friends. This was no way to live.  So I decided that that if my faith was true, in the cosmic sense of true…the everlasting and omnipotent brand of true…then it certainly would not be threatened by my prodding. Then I did a very dangerous thing. I started reading, listening and thinking with the express purpose of resolving that which seemed in most conflict. Unfortunately, threatened has been exactly what my faith is.

-Oh no, this isn’t another one of the science/religion blogs is it?

I understand the concern. My wife has already accused me of being trendy. But trendy or not I feel at the precipice of making decisions that should not be made alone. I’m starting this blog because I want to invite all of you into a thoughtful conversation about belief, doubt, science, salvation, culture and community.

As those of you with the hard luck of being closest to me know, I have thought and spoken of little else over the past couple of years. I’ve appreciated nothing more than those who have been willing to engage with me on my…well my?…some have called mine a journey, others a season, for some it’s a breakthrough, or a faith crisis, a struggle, doubt, sin, eye-opening or sacrilege, back-slide, blasphemy or honesty.

For me the past years have been like living at altitude. The air has been more clear and sweet than ever; though it’s harder to get at. Heart’s beating, oxygen is low, head is throbbing but, God damn, the sky has never been so close. Only here, above the tree line, do the heavens spill ink at midday, staining the sky a deep unimaginable blue that reminds us how small and humbled we are by the universe.

-What is this all supposed to accomplish here?

Well, I want to be vulnerable. I want your input, support, arguments, rebuttals, and even vulnerability in return. I want to be influenced by and influence my community, believers and unbelievers alike, from you pastors to professors. I want to work out faith with fear and trembling. Like the newly minted Large Hadron Collider at CERN, I want to smash together the most fundamental particles of who we are and see what comes spilling out. I want to marvel at physics, chemical reactions and evolution. I want to wrestle with the angel of the most high, clinging to his ankle until he is forced to either wrench my hip into submission or vanish with the morning day break like a phantom. I want a new name. Anyone in?

-No really. Enough with the ambiguous prose. What can I expect from this blog?

Okay, okay, fair enough. Here’s the logistics as I see them now. I’m planning to post about once a week for now. I don’t have much of an agenda. Hopefully enough of you want to participate that the comments section will develop into an interesting conversation space and things can develop fluidly. I suppose that’s also predicated on me having some actual interesting things to say in the first place. Uh-oh. Now I’m intimidated again and just when I was hitting my groove.

I’m also hoping in the future that a few of you may want to actually contribute with a post now and then yourselves. We’ll see what happens. For now, if you have any ideas for topics I’d love to hear them.

All right, that about wraps ‘r all up. Look for Post #2 coming soon! It’s going to be about…wait for it…I scream, you scream, we all scream for…Skepticism! Mmmm, yummy.

Comments»

1. Paul - October 9, 2008

Hi Casey,

This is Paul (Sonja’s husband). I share your deep skepticism and i will spell out more what has shaped my world views (when I’m not at work 😉 But i would like to know what books you have been reading, what moments in your life started you on this journey and do you think you can resolve science and religion as co-branches of thought… or are they separate magisteria alltogether. I do see value in spirituality, I personally just feel people cloud moments of transcendence with literal doctrine without thinking about its sincerity. Its like holding two antithetical arguments in your brain at the same time. Enough of my rant…

I know you will come out the other side a strong, loving person. Don’t worry, whatever you decide I know you can reconcile a very loving and meaningful relationship with your wife and friends.

Cheers,

Paul

2. Matt - October 9, 2008

Casey,
I’m excited you’re doing this. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on all these issues. I’m willing, though questionably able, to post my thoughts as well. 😉
-Matt

3. Benjamin - October 9, 2008

Booyah!!! First, bitches. And to start the particle smashing, I say this: Casey, you’re flat out wrong. Wait, back up. I’m glad you’re doing this and my respect for you has grown. Fuck trendy, welcome to climatic normal! Back to the point: you’re wrong on at least one thing: you’re not alone in this discussion (broadcast? c’mon). What is this “journey, season, faith crisis, struggle, doubt, sin, eye-opening sacrilege, backslide, blasphemy” crap? Who came up with those pickled shit words for people? Mom said people shouldn’t use bad language, so burn that lexicon. In fact, I recall the most honest discussion we had about our faith while tapping out a bottle of Southern Comfort after a baby trout dinner miles from civilization. It’s a great memory for me, and I still reflect on our topics. Call it, or this blog, whatever you will. I wholeheartedly support such things, so bring it!!!

4. Benjamin - October 9, 2008

Drat. I was third.

Topics for discussion (from the drunken fish fry):

I doubt Christians’ claims of creationism. They ignore the blatantly obvious physical facts surrounding us.

I doubt how/why the canon was selected for the Bible. The book of Esther doesn’t mention God at all. Martin Luther thought it shouldn’t even be in there, and there are many other books in contention by famous religious scholars.

I doubt whether God has the same commands for all people, as in morals. I believe He has specific ones for each person, a relationship, and society creates the morals by linking these individual commands.

No pressure, Casey.

5. Paul - October 9, 2008

FIRST!

In terms of morality, I think there are far less universal truths than most would like to believe. At the end of the day, how do we parse what is a good moral precept and what isn’t? The answer “god” does not reconcile this in any way. I think its a complex mix of our inherit need for socialization, cultural melding and changing times (Dawkins would call it a Zeitgeist which i guess is sort of what I’m saying). A simple answer for me at least is a melding of Mill’s Utilitarianism and Kant’s Catagorical Imperative. Do whats best for the majority of a society but never treat another human MERELY as a means to an end. Sounds simple enough, but of course, we all know morality, like democracy, is a messy process… it takes alot of time and debate to work out what is truly good and what is not.

6. T - October 9, 2008

Good stuff, Case, thanks for starting this conversation.

“Instruct a wise man and he will be wiser still; teach a righteous man and he will add to his learning.” -Prov 9:9

Here’s to all of us wising up through these discussions!

Verse 10 is good, too.

7. Eric - October 9, 2008

Casey, I’m pleased to see you jumping into the blogging breach and privileged to be among the first to see you do so.

Speaking as someone who lost his (Roman Catholic) faith at the tender age of 12 — if I ever legitimately had it, that is — I’d be curious to hear you (and others) discuss how this loss feels when you’re older, after you’ve invested a great deal of your adult life in your faith. Are the feelings more like surprise and disappointment, or more like anger and betrayal? (Or whatever there might be in between.)

I understand that “loss of faith” may not be the right way to describe the relevant experience for everyone; please feel free to clarify…

8. Emmet - October 9, 2008

Shit, damn, fuck, bitch! That has nothing to do with your blog specifically, I just wanted to be one of the ones who swore and I wasn’t sure I could naturally work it into my response.

My official response:
1. Heretics throw the best parties, unfortunately I think you are just being honest, better luck next time. God knows we need to have more fun up in this bitch (oh, I guess I could swear).
2. Way to skip Facebook and go straight to the hard shit.
3. I apologize in advance for any Christianese language that comes out in any of my responses, hopefully it wont be the result of my parroting the “Churches” response but rather the result of my limited vocabulary as I try and work through and convey what I believe.
4. Do you mind if I share this blog with a few other people? I think it would be good for them to hear, if only to distract them from doing other more productive things.

9. Antony - October 9, 2008

I like it!

Casey, I’m really happy that you’ve started a public discussion (as long as it doesn’t REPLACE the ones we have on your porch with a beer), and I’m encouraged by the quick response of so many – and hope to see more people accept the challenge to be as vulnerable.

A few things so far – I like the idea of a page for book recommendations because I imagine that there are more than a few nerds out there who can’t write more than a paragraph without dropping some sort of textual reference. (Notice my restraint two whole paragraphs in!)

Second, in the spirit of your ‘where I’m at’ bio, my brief self-description would be that I’m pretty Christian for a secularist. Or very secular for a Christian. I guess it depends on what you mean by “Christian”…

And lastly, bring on the skepticism. I’m already preparing my response about the meaning of personal experience as evidence. Joan of Arc. Paul on the road to Damascus. And William James. (There’s the nerdy reference…I feel better now). 🙂

10. bear - October 9, 2008

Well, finally. Casey, I know this wasn’t easy, but it is a solid move on your part. Beware a following.

Let me be the first to post an obscure and somewhat unrelated seeming poem. Now kill me.

Bear

I believe

‘I believe in the sun though it is late in rising
I believe in love though it is absent
I believe in God though he is silent.

’From the wall of a Cologne cellar where Jews hid from the Gestapo

11. caseyww - October 9, 2008

Wow everybody. Thanks for the responses. There are some great ideas here.

Specifically, the topic of a reading list has come up which I like. I’ve been playing with the idea of writing some reviews of books I’ve found interesting. But before that I’ll throw together a rough list just to give everybody an idea of where I’m at.

Also the issue of whether science and religion can really coexist has been raised. In some sense, I suppose this blog is meant to explore that question over a longer discussion so I’m hesitant to show my cards too early. But what the hell? Honestly I think science and faith are two fundamentally different ways to qualify what is truth. It’s an issue of what our filter is for establishing belief. I think science and faith represent two opposing filters that probably are not reconcilable. Clear as mud? Well more to come on this specific topic in post #2.

As for the other topics raised here…well, well. From dealing with specific doubts about faith to poetry and everything in between all I can say tonight is that I’m really excited to get to all of them in time.

12. nicole - October 9, 2008

welcome to the blogging world casey, and props to you for adding some substance to it (as opposed to those of us who just write about anecdotes and random/funny/who-cares events of one’s life). I don’t have anything pertinent to say at this point as it is already past my bedtime. But I could not sleep soundly knowing that you had not yet had a single female comment on your blog yet. so I can legitimately say first bitches!, and then leave myself wide open for a joke or self-imposed derogatory remark. Now it’s time for bed…

13. todd - October 10, 2008

it must be awesome on these “blog” things to be the first responder.
I’m 13th (expletive!).

I read a lot of books about god. or the bible, which is related, I think.
looking forward to seeing what develops…

14. Paul - October 10, 2008

I’m interested to see the book lists of all the posters on here that have affected their worldview. I’ll add a small book list of my own that shaped my world view:
I’ll break it down in little subsections:

Spirituality and Mythology
The Bible
The Power of Myth -joseph campbell with bill moyers interview
The Mahabharata
Living Buddha, Living Christ
Myth of the Eternal Return
The Sacred and the Prophane
Carl Jung on Myth and Logos

Philosophy
Utilitarianism-John Stuart Mill
Catagorical Imperative-Immanuel Kant
A Theory of Justice-John Rawls
Various essays by Nietzsche, Aristotle (especially his work on Logic), Lao Tzu and Hume

Science/Secularism (I am a poor scientist though)
The Varieties of the Scientific Experience: Carl Sagan
The Blind Watchmaker: Richard Dawkins
Letter to a Christian Nation: Sam Harris
Various lectures on Science and secularism from Harris, Dawkins, Sagan, etc.

What say you blog repliers?

15. bear - October 10, 2008

I would say that you, Paul, are born to blog!

16. Paul - October 10, 2008

hahaha thanks bear! I get annoyed at work so i need a distraction 😉

17. Michelle Wilson - October 10, 2008

Hi Casey!

I’m glad you are wanting to engage in this question as an all out quest for truth rather than floating around trying not to offend people. I hope your wrestling match causes you to discover what you are looking for.

I believe that if it is really truth you want to find, you will find it and it will set you free. A good question to keep asking yourself along the way is, “What am I looking for?” Make sure you are looking for what you want to find. If you are looking for God, you will find him. If you are looking for something else, you may find something else less valuable.

I may quote a book later as Antony mentioned, but for now, a song,
Wish I knew what you were looking for.
Might have known what you would find.
And it’s something quite peculiar . . .
something shimmering and white.
It leads you here, despite your destination,
under the Milky Way tonight.
-The Church

On faith and science, I don’t personally see much of a conflict. We understand so little of both. Both should remind us of how small we are and how little we know. Some things in the Bible and in scientific theory seem remarkably compatible while others seem greatly divergent. I find myself unsurprised at this in light of how much I don’t know and how much I don’t understand.

with love,
Michelle

18. Bill Whitsett - October 11, 2008

Im the “Pops”, the “Dad”, the “Father”…have to weigh my words very carefully. Whatever search it is that leads us to ultimate truth, and we take this voyage wrapped in pure honesty, how can this not lead us to personal salvation? Not the teaching of generations, although wisdom can be gleaned here. Not the belief of those in majority, although listening cannot be bad. But a heartfelt sense of reason that this is my life, my journey, my time to wrestle with the angels..of this my heart will rejoice, and my God cannot but help to draw near.
It does not feel like a “crisis of faith”, nor does it look like it from afar…rather without the haughtiness of pride, it does feel enlightened.

19. Karen DeArmond - October 11, 2008

I am Casey’s Aunt. I also want to weigh my words carefully as I admit I am a Woman of Faith and have been since August 22, 1970. Have I had times of doubting God, questioning where He was and just what was He was up to? Oh yes, too many times. Has He proven faithful? Everyday of my life.

I am not as intellectual as most of you, I did not attend a four year college and do not have a degree next to my name, that does not mean I am unable to provide stimulating conservsation on the subject of God. I enjoy learning and studying, especially learning more about God. In any conservsation there must be two sides in order to create dialog. I will be on the side of God and His Word. Understand He does not need me to defend Him or prove His existence. It will be interesting to see where this blog will lead us. Just so you know Bill and Casey I am up to the challenge…I love you both (sorry everyone, I just had to add some mush, I haven’t seen Casey and Jess for a while).

If you are going to add a list of books, I would like to add Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis.

20. Linda Matney - October 12, 2008

Hey there, Casey, your dad clued me in to your new venture and I think it’s a great idea. It will certainly be interesting to see what happens. . .hope everyone finds what they are searching for. I haven’t read all of those books already listed in the posts, but I have at least heard of most of these people. . .and I would like to add my own recommendations to the book list. . .”Josephus. The Complete Works,” translated by William Whitson, A.M.” which will give you and other like-minded readers a glimpse into the first century after the death of Christ by a man who lived during those times and whose writings we have been fortunate enough to be blessed with.

I look forward to your posting on the topic “Skepticism,” because I want to know from which aspect you are coming from. . . are you skeptical about the existence of God? skeptical about the power of prayer?” skeptical about your ability to navigate in the world as an individual without totally losing your way? skeptical about the “end of days,” etc. So amy questions, so little time.

I have a question for all of you myself. . .who can tell me what word defines the opposite of Evil (hint. . .nope, it can’t be good because that is the opposite of bad. . .keep thinking).

Isn’t this going to be fun? enlightening? maybe even life-saving?

Love ya

Your cuz, Linda

21. Paul - October 13, 2008

Hey linda,

interesting semantic play on words… I think evil is really just an extreme of bad anyways, so the answer good still applies. Or maybe it should be ubergood.

22. casey - October 13, 2008

I’ll chime in on this ‘evil’ topic. Thanks for the question Linda.

To put it simply, I’m not sure evil in the broad sense actually exists. A term like ‘evil’ that refers to moral conduct is kind of a moving target. We really use the term loosely to label all those wrong actions that our culture has deemed to be inappropriate. But I would disagree that because a certain action is wrong for a certain culture under a certain set of circumstances that it is always wrong under all circumstances. Similarly, the antonym of evil may very well be a grey area that would best be called virtuous.

Before trying to define the opposite of evil any further, I think I’d first ask you to define what you mean by ‘evil’ in the first place.

23. Sam - October 13, 2008

Casey-

Just wanted to give you something to think about: You said that “science and faith represent two opposing filters that probably are not reconcilable.” I think that you are missing one interesting avenue of thought (also pertains to Linda’s question–I started to go after that but realized I would need a LOT more space than I wanted to hog up here, given none of you know me).

Why do scientific-based and faith-based reasoning methods need to be mutually exclusive or even opposing ideologies?

If God created the world as he saw fit, and God created man in his image–then we can make a few assumptions: God is a being of Belief, and God is a being of Science.

I’ll stop here before I get all Kierkegaarded. As someone else who knows the ground that you stand on very well (and as a self-described Christian Existentialist) I look forward to reading more.

-sam

24. Paul - October 13, 2008

Sorry, I know, I’m hoarding your blog Casey 😉

But that evil question finally got me thinking… and Linda can correct me if i’m wrong, but I think she wants one to already come to the conclusion that the answer to the opposite of evil is god. I don’t think this is quite possible, it sounds like a leap of logic.

I’m going to use a technique I learned from my philosophy professor when dealing with these types of arguments… Sometimes, its easier to describe what something ISN’T or is WITHOUT the said argument to help determine what it could be.

If we can think hypothetically of a person that is without evil, than that person would by definition be a very good person. As examples we can look to people that have a minimal amount of evil within them (i.e: ghandi or MLK)… then imagine them just bridging the gap to having no evil at all in them. Would that make them any more special than just an extremely good person that we would want to model our lives after? Would that bridging of the gap just magically give them the power to live forever, create a universe and be everywhere and nowhere at once? Obviously not. In conclusion, when one takes away evil from something that something or someone doesn’t magically become anything other than what it is… they just become increasingly good.

To contrast this point, lets say god is her answer. With what was said above, if one is without evil does that make them god? Can they all of a sudden do everything else that god can do? God is bigger than the notion of being opposite of the word evil, he/she/it is also intelligent, immortal, all powerful and all knowing. It is but one trait… its like saying having hair is the notion of being a woman… but this is but one trait of woman. It does not paint the whole picture and is thus does not properly condense an idea like god into a game of opposites.

TL,DR (aka Too Long, Didn’t Read) Version
Something or someone that is absent of all evil does not therefore make that person or thing god anymore than a human absent male genitalia makes them a woman. These are but narrow (albeit important) traits that God would have, but they are not the ONLY traits that make up God, ergo, the opposite of evil cannot be God because it does not contain all that God is.

25. Bill Whitsett - October 13, 2008

I want to go back and make a comment on something Michelle said in Post#17…given me alot to think about. Her comment “A good question to keep asking yourself along the way is “”What am I looking for?”. Make sure you are looking for what you want to find…etc. etc. My question here is…”isnt that like a self-fullfilling search ending only in a pre-disposed answer”? If under the rock I am seeking out is only “hopeless/despair”, but I am seeking “life ever-after”, it does not change what is literally under the rock when I find it, just because I want it to be there. And am I not better off as a person, knowing the truth of what is “really” there, even if the “truth” is hopeless/despair? She continued…”If you are looking for God, you will find Him”. In any search for “something”…dont we have to be open to the fact that it may not be there when we arrive?
On to “Evil”…Great Post#24 Paul, I will chew on that stuff for awhile.

26. Sam - October 13, 2008

In response to #25:

Bill hits exactly WHY science and the scientific method is faulty (just like faith can be) as an understanding of Life the Universe and Everything. The entire Scientific Method is predicated upon the idea of forming a hypotheses and then testing it. The entire method is biased to determining an answer to a posed question. Personally I believe the most important answers you can find are to the questions we don’t know to ask (here we go to circular logic about finding the original question rather than the answer, go go Douglas Adams.)

On Evil: If we go on biblical morality, God is Good/Love. And the antithesis of God is the absence of God (not necessarily Evil/Hate.) The opposite of God/Good/Love is nothingness/neutrality.

Evil is then a degree of neutrality (since you can’t get any ‘worse’ than the absence of God–all sins are equal, etc etc.)

27. Linda Matney - October 13, 2008

Wow, thanks for the responses guys regarding the opposite of Evil. . only I think you have all overthought this question or maybe it simply can’t be answered.

Let me clarify what it is I’m seeking. I said the opposite of Evil could not be the word “good” because that is the opposite of “bad.” The word Bad denotes a lesser form of Evil, whereas good denotes a lesser form of that one word I am seeking that is the opposite of Evil. Can you give me a single word that truly defines “Evil” without getting into the spiritual or religious realm?

The idea that the meaning of “Evil” depends on a cultural type is misleading. . .I can think of no civilized culture in which murder is acceptable. There are different kinds of murder, much like there are different levels of good and bad, and some murders would be labeled even heinous or “Evil,” but not all. The word “good” cannot therefore adequately impart the true meaning as an opposite of “evil.”

And on the topic of faith and sciene not co-existing. . .hello? Let’s get real here people. . .the real question I think is how could they not? If you are a Christian and you are looking at this from a faith based perspective, and you understand that God’s time is not measured according to our standards, then the differences in time in so far as the creation of the world goes fades away and becomes a non-issue. Furthermore, who imparted the ability for humankind to even come up with the idea of “science?” Was it just a biological reaction to environmental issues or something more?

If you are not a Christian, then I can see your eyebrows are already up to your hairline, but that is okay. Hopefully, you are here because you are willing to entertain different ideas, not just your own.

One more thought on what one may be seeking. . .in turning over rocks you never can know what you will find. . .you just have to decide if it will fit into the framework of what you believe you are seeking. .whether it be hopeless/despair of life ever-after. The choice is, after all, your’s to make.

28. Antony - October 14, 2008

I like that there are more things to respond to above than I have the time or space to do here. I guess that means there’ll be no shortage of things to post about in the future. So for now…

Re: 17, 25 – finding what you seek. I think Bill is right, people do tend to ‘find’ what they seek. We as humans are really good at self-fulfilling prophecies. If you want to label something ‘god’ you will interpret things to affirm your predisposition. Same with the opposite – you can easily find a ‘godless’ world if you want to. What makes Casey’s question/goal interesting to me is that he is seeking truth.

So is ‘truth’ like ‘god’? Does it have a predetermined content that we hope to affirm or is it an open concept that accepts the results of an honest search? As Casey knows, I’m suspicious of the possibility of an open concept of truth…but then, that is the challenge – you have to be vulnerable enough to catch yourself ‘loading the deck’ and merely confirming what you really hoped was true in the first place.

Some think that science is the mode of knowledge that allows you to do this. I’m skeptical of that. Casey posited a difference between faith and science. I think both require faith – you have to trust that they bring truth – so maybe I’d say spirituality and science are two different modes of knowledge. [Sorry, Casey, I don’t mean to start a vocabulary war.]

And I’m really not sure that the ‘truths’ that each arrives at are compatible. That’s not to elevate one truth over the other (there’s time for that later), but really it’s just that spirituality and science are both man-made and our perspective cannot be universal or objective (no matter what Kant says), and so the truths these modes of knowledge come to are, at best, limited and provisional. And the tragedy is when we make the mistake of taking our provisional and partial truths for absolute truth…

Okay, in danger of a seriously long ramble here. So instead, let me end with a string of questions for others: Does truth exist? If so, can we know it? And how?

29. bear - October 14, 2008

Dear Antony, Truth is a tree.

30. Loree Whitsett - October 14, 2008

Wow! You are an amazing writer.I have read both you blogs and I live in a different world,one that is much simpler.I walk in that faith you question everyday for my husband ,son,daughter and grandaughter.I walk in the knowledge that Christ said “I live in you”. I walk in the passion of Christ and pray that people see Him in me always.I don’t care how old the world is,I care about today and whats before me cuz I can’t do anything about the past ,today is what I have to work with. I do serve a living King that gives me a peace that passes all understanding and without it I would be a mess today.I have seen with my own eyes people healed and people delivered,I have seen the Hand of God move over a group of worshipers that moves you to tears. He has brought me from mourning into dancing. I don’t have to ask the questions I’ve seen the answers,its all around me.
I don’t walk in religion anymore I have seen and heard enough from all the rules that a man made.I live from Mon. to Sat. and get refreshed on Sun. We as a people have messed up what God really wants and I am trying to get back to that also.
Son, I could not be more proud of you and who you are you are one of my greatest joys and I praise God for you daily.

Love you bunches, Mom

31. On Skepticism « valence - October 14, 2008

[…] in conclusion, I was asked in the comments on the “Invitation” post which specific claims of Christianity I am skeptical about? In light of the way we’ve […]

32. Roy - October 26, 2008

invitation. That’s an interesting word to use as your first title for your blog. Invitation reminds me of the banquet a man put together and after inviting all his friends, none accepted the invitation. So the man went throughout the town and gathered a bunch of ragamuffins (you like that CB, my future b-ball buddy?) and partied. Thanks for the invitation! 🙂

I’ll comment on some of the other stuff later. I like blogs but I’d rather go hang out. 🙂

33. Drum Roll Please « valence - November 17, 2008

[…] is all to say that this week I will be surrendering the posting helm.  In Invitation I hinted that there would be an effort towards making Valence a multi-contributor brand of blog.  […]

34. phentermine - October 5, 2014

I believe in loving everyone with their doing the same. And remember it’s a
must that the DJ is aware of their crowd in case of emergency – can’t be all fucked
up (high & drunk) not paying attention and then on top
of that can’t change your mood music cuz all you brought was the bang bang four on the floor.
I really threw beers and booted the wall structure and swore seeing that loud
after i could free of Beth experiencing me.


Leave a Reply

