jump to navigation

Drum Roll Please November 17, 2008

Posted by caseyww in Uncategorized.
trackback

Everybody knows that newborn giraffes are up and walking around after like 2 hours after being born, right? Insane.

Well Valence has had 6 weeks to find it’s legs and like a doting mother (yes I am that comfortable with my feminine side) it’s time for me to let Valence walk on its own for a little while.

This is all to say that this week I will be surrendering the posting helm.  In Invitation I hinted that there would be an effort towards making Valence a multi-contributor brand of blog.  Granted, I envision that for the most part I will still be the main contributor for the foreseeable future but I also stick by my assertion that … “the value of our conversation is directly proportional to the diversity of opinions represented.”

In that light please welcome Antony as this week’s Valence poster!

Antony will be posting on a Salon article titled “The Certainty Epidemic” written by Robert Burton.  If you have time please check it out before he posts.

As you may guess I have some strong opinions on the article but I don’t want to preempt Antony’s post so you’ll have to wait for the comments section to hear them!

As an aside, since it will require a bit more reading to engage in the conversation, referencing an entire article is a bit of an experiment here at Valence but something I can see us doing now and again in the future. Let me know what you think of the format.

Comments»

1. Matt - November 17, 2008

I’m curious to hear Antony’s thoughts on that article. I read it last week when Eric linked to it in the comments for the previous article, but I couldn’t get all of what the author was saying.
-M

2. bear - November 17, 2008

Sounds like a lot of work 🙂

3. Nancy O. - November 17, 2008

Bear,

You are so funny! 🙂

4. Nancy O. - November 17, 2008

Haven’t read “The Certainty Epidemic” but I wonder – will it make us uncertain of our certainty or certain of our uncertainty? 😉


Leave a Reply

